Drug Task Forces get $1 million in grants - WQOW TV: Eau Claire, WI NEWS18 News, Weather, and Sports

Drug Task Forces get $1 million in grants



MADISON (Press Release from Governor Scott Walker's office) -  Governor Walker announced today that the Office of Justice Assistance (OJA) has awarded $1,037,500 in federal Byrne Justice Assistance Grants (JAG) to eighteen drug task forces.  Drug Task Forces target gangs, drugs, firearms, and associated criminal investigations. Wisconsin's support of effective drug task forces benefits law enforcement across the state and enhances interagency coordination and intelligence sharing.
"Supporting this law enforcement capacity to fight crime helps keep Wisconsin's streets and citizens safer," said Governor Walker. "In partnership with Attorney General Van Hollen, we are leveraging multiple sources of funding to maximize the ability of these dollars to combat drugs in our state."
The Department of Justice contributed $717,000 to support drug task forces from state Penalty Surcharge funds.
Wisconsin's 18 Drug Task Forces cover 56 of the state's 72 counties, and eight of Wisconsin's 11 tribes.
The $1 million of Byrne JAG funding supports drug prosecutor positions, investigator positions, overtime for investigations, partial funding for Task Force Commanders, confidential fund expenditures, and equipment and supplies.
Continued investment in drug task forces is one of seven priorities identified in the statewide Byrne JAG strategic spending plan approved by the Governor.
In calendar year 2010, Drug Task Forces initiated 1,555 new investigations, made 857 felony arrests and 607 misdemeanor arrests, had 44 defendants accepted for federal prosecution on felony charges, had 736 defendants accepted for state prosecution on felony charges, and had 385 defendants accepted for state prosecution for misdemeanor charges.

Drug Task Force
Participating Counties
Lead Law Enforcement Agency
Brown County Drug Task Force
Brown County Sheriff's Department
Dane County Narcotics and Gang Task Force
Dane County Sheriff's Department
Northwest Area Crime Unit
Ashland, Bayfield, Burnett, Douglas, Iron, Sawyer, Washburn
Douglas County Sheriff's Department
West Central Drug Task Force
Buffalo, Clark, Chippewa, Dunn, Eau Claire, Pepin
Eau Claire County Sheriff's Department
South East Area Drug Operations Group
Dodge, Jefferson, Kenosha, Racine, Walworth
Walworth County Sheriff's Office
West Central MEG Drug Task Force
Jackson, La Crosse, Monroe, Trempealeau, Vernon
La Crosse County Sheriff's Department
Manitowoc County Metro Drug Unit
Manitowoc County Sheriff's Department
Central Area Drug Enforcement Group
Marathon County Sheriff's Department
Milwaukee Metropolitan Drug Enforcement Group
Milwaukee County District Attorney's Office
North Central Drug Enforcement Group
Forest, Langlade, Lincoln, Oneida, Price, Taylor, Vilas
Oneida County Sheriff's Department
Richland-Iowa-Grant Drug Task Force
Iowa, Grant, Richland
Iowa County Sheriff's Department
Sheboygan County MEG Unit
Sheboygan Police Department
St. Croix Valley Drug Task Force
Pierce, Polk, St. Croix
Pierce County Sheriff's Department
Central Wisconsin Drug Task Force
Adams, Green Lake, Juneau, Marquette, Portage, Waupaca, Waushara, Wood
Waupaca Police Department
Washington County Multi-Jurisdictional Drug Unit
Washington County Sheriff's Department
Waukesha County Metropolitan Drug Enforcement Unit
Waukesha County Sheriff's Department
Lake Winnebago Area MEG Unit
Calumet, Fond du Lac, Outagamie, Winnebago
Lake Winnebago Area Meg Unit
NADGI Tribal Task Force
Wisconsin Tribes
Oneida Police Department


Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WQOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's pubic inspection file should contact News Director Dan Schillinger at 715-852-5920. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.