Five injured in Rusk County crash - WQOW TV: Eau Claire, WI NEWS18 News, Weather, and Sports

Five injured in Rusk County crash


Rusk County (Press Release) - On September 26, 2012 at 6:17 p.m. there was a two-car traffic crash with multiple injuries reported to the Rusk County Sheriff's Office.

The location of the crash was the intersection of State Highway 40 and County Highway D in the Town of Big Bend in Rusk County.

Emergency responders tended to five injured people involved in the crash. Two of the injured were transported to the Rusk County Memorial Hospital and three of the injured were taken to the Bloomer hospital. The injured were from New Auburn, Bloomer and Cameron. Names will not be released at this time.

Rusk County deputies began the investigation of the crash and requested the assistance of the Wisconsin State Patrol reconstruction team.

From the initial investigation of the crash, a vehicle was northbound on State Highway 40 and entering the intersection with County Highway D. A westbound vehicle on County Highway D failed to stop at the stop sign and struck the northbound vehicle. It is likely that the setting sun may have been a contributing factor in the crash.

The Wisconsin State Patrol will be handling the crash investigation with the assistance of the Rusk County Sheriff's Office.

Deputies from the Rusk County Sheriff's Office, along with the Bruce Fire Department, Bruce Ambulance, Ladysmith Ambulance, Bloomer Ambulance and Weyerhaeuser First Responders responded to the scene.


Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WQOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's pubic inspection file should contact News Director Dan Schillinger at 715-852-5920. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at