UW-Stout Claims Women’s Golf Championship - WQOW TV: Eau Claire, WI NEWS18 News, Weather, and Sports

UW-Stout Claims Women’s Golf Championship


Wisconsin Rapids (WIAC Press Release) -- University of Wisconsin-Stout captured the 2012 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Women's Golf Championship after three days of competition at Bull's Eye Country Club.  With the victory the Blue Devils claimed the conference's automatic bid into the NCAA Division III Championship that will be conducted May 14-17, 2013, in Destin, Fla.

The conference title for the Blue Devils is the first in program history.  UW-Stout entered the final 18 holes of competition facing an 11-stroke deficit to UW-Whitewater and finished the 54-hole event with 1024 strokes.  UW-Whitewater placed second with 1025 strokes, while three-time defending champion UW-Eau Claire took third with 1026 strokes.  UW-River Falls finished fourth with 1073 strokes, UW-Platteville fifth with 1088, UW-Stevens Point sixth with 1130 and UW-Oshkosh seventh with 1145.

Individually, UW-Stout's Brittany McNett-Emmerich captured medalist honors in the 48-player field with a 54-hole total of 234 strokes.  She is the first individual in program history to secure earn medalist distinction at the league event.

UW-Eau Claire's Catherine Wagner placed second with 246 strokes, while teammate Kate Engler was third with 248.  UW-Whitewater's Nicole Westcott took fourth with 250 and UW-Stevens Point's McKenna Prestigiacomo fifth with 251.  UW-Platteville's Kellsey Welter and UW-River Falls' Gillian McDonald tied for sixth with 254.  A four-way tie for eighth-place at 257 strokes included UW-Platteville's Kelsey Lieving, UW-Stout's Mariah Chesley and UW-Whitewater's Sarah Bregant and Sammie Leibham.

UW-Stout head coach Howie Samb was selected the Coach of the Year by the league coaches.  He won the award for the second straight year and third time in the last four seasons.

UW-Whitewater's Catherine Hiltenbrand recorded only the second hole-in-one in 17-year history of the WIAC championship.  She aced the 131-yard eighth hole using an 8-iron.  UW-Stevens Point's Leah Haas recorded the previous hole-in-one at the 1998 championship.

An All-Sportsmanship Team was chosen for individuals that displayed exemplary sportsmanship throughout the season. It included one member from each school.  Named to the squad were:  UW-Eau Claire's Mandi Salo; UW-Oshkosh's Amanda Bingham; UW-Platteville's Kelsey Lieving; UW-River Falls' Paige Cook; UW-Stevens Point's Olivia Schiefelbein; UW-Stout's Meghan Whittaker and UW-Whitewater's Catherine Hiltenbrand.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WQOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's pubic inspection file should contact News Director Dan Schillinger at 715-852-5920. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.