Buckeyes escape Wisconsin with overtime win - WQOW TV: Eau Claire, WI NEWS18 News, Weather, and Sports

Buckeyes escape Wisconsin with overtime win

MADISON, Wis. – Ohio State withstood a last-minute comeback by Wisconsin and held on for a 21-14 win in overtime Saturday at Camp Randall Stadium.
A first-quarter punt return for touchdown by Corey Brown put the Buckeyes (11-0, 7-0 Big Ten) on the scoreboard, and OSU eventually jumped out to a 14-0 lead on a 15-yard TD run by Carlos Hyde in the second quarter.
The Badgers answered with a 7-yard touchdown run from senior RB Montee Ball, who tied the NCAA FBS record for career touchdowns with the 78th TD of his career. Ball had a shot to surpass the record but was denied on a fourth-and-1 from the Ohio State 2-yard line midway as Ryan Shazier forced a fumble that allowed OSU to take over with 2:46 remaining in the fourth quarter.
Wisconsin battled back to tie things with a dramatic drive over the final 1:33, as senior QB Curt Phillips connected with TE Jacob Pedersen on a 5-yard touchdown pass with just 8 seconds remaining.
The Buckeyes got the ball first in overtime and scored on a 2-yard run by Carlos Hyde. The Badgers failed to match the score and fell in overtime for the second time in three games.
Ball finished with 191 rushing yards on 39 carries. Phillips was 14-for-25 for 154 yards and the touchdown pass to Pedersen.
Wisconsin travels to Penn State next Satuday, with kickoff set for 2:30 p.m. (CT).
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WQOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's pubic inspection file should contact News Director Dan Schillinger at 715-852-5920. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.