Ball Big Ten RB of year, 7 Badgers named 1st team - WQOW TV: Eau Claire, WI NEWS18 News, Weather, and Sports

Ball Big Ten RB of year, 7 Badgers named 1st team

MADISON -- A pair of the Big Ten's best at their positions and 15 All-Big Ten honorees, including seven first-team selections, highlight Wisconsin's 2012 conference award winners.
Senior running back Montee Ball was named the Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year for the second-consecutive season.
Ball became the NCAA's all-time touchdown leader with his 79th career touchdown against Penn State on Saturday. The senior finished conference play with a league-best 1,168 rushing yards, averaging 146.0 rushing yards per game, and 15 touchdowns.
Ball earned the inaugural award, which is named for former Badgers -- and Heisman Trophy winners -- Alan Ameche and Ron Dayne, after tying the NCAA record with 39 touchdowns in 2011.
Junior tight end Jacob Pedersen was named the Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year. The award is named for Penn State's Ted Kwalick and Iowa's Dallas Clark.
Pedersen recorded his fourth touchdown reception of the season on a pass from Curt Phillips with eight seconds remaining in regulation to force overtime vs. Ohio State.  Pedersen's 14 career TD receptions are tied for 11th all-time at UW.
Ball and Pedersen, together with five teammates, also earned first-team All-Big Ten honors, tying Ohio State for most first-team selections in the league with seven.
Last year, UW had a school-record nine first-team selections. Prior to that, the last time that Wisconsin has as many as seven first-team All-Big Ten selection was 1999.
Ball, junior wide receiver Jared Abbrederis and senior left tackle Rick Wagner earned consensus first team honors.
Junior center Travis Frederick and senior linebacker Mike Taylor were each voted first team by the media and both earned honorable mention selection from the coaches.  Pedersen and junior linebacker Chris Borland were voted first team by league coaches and honorable mention by the media.
Junior left guard Ryan Groy earned a second-team nod from the coaches and honorable mention honors from the media, while senior corner back Devin Smith was voted second team by the media and honorable mention by the coaches.
CB Marcus Cromartie, DE David Gilbert, P Drew Meyer and S Dezmen Southward were consensus honorable mention selections, while DT Ethan Hemer was selected honorable mention by the coaches.
Senior safety Shelton Johnson was selected as Wisconsin's Big Ten Sportsmanship Award winner.
The Badgers continue their season with a trip to the Big Ten Football Championship Game on Saturday, where they will face Legends Division champion Nebraska at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis. Wisconsin is looking to win its third-consecutive Big Ten title and its third-consecutive trip to the Rose Bowl.
2012 All-Big Ten Conference football teams
Montee Ball - First team (consensus)
Jared Abbrederis - First team (consensus)
Rick Wagner - First team (consensus)
Travis Frederick - First team (media), Honorable mention (coaches)
Jacob Pedersen - First team (coaches), Honorable mention (media)
Ryan Groy - Second team (coaches), Honorable mention (media)
Mike Taylor - First team (media), Honorable mention (coaches)
Chris Borland - First team (coaches), Honorable mention (media)
Devin Smith - Second team (media), Honorable mention (coaches)
Beau Allen - Honorable mention (consensus)
Marcus Cromartie - Honorable mention (consensus)
David Gilbert - Honorable mention (consensus)
Ethan Hemer - Honorable mention (coaches)
Drew Meyer - Honorable mention (consensus)
Dezmen Southward - Honorable mention (consensus)
Big Ten Sportsmanship Award
Shelton Johnson


Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WQOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's pubic inspection file should contact News Director Dan Schillinger at 715-852-5920. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at