Decker named top-10 finalist for 2013 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Aw - WQOW TV: Eau Claire, WI NEWS18 News, Weather, and Sports

Decker named top-10 finalist for 2013 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award



MADISON, Wis. -- Senior women's hockey forward Brianna Decker has been named a top-10 finalist for 2013 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, USA Hockey announced today.
Decker was named the winner of the 2012 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award after leading the nation with 37 goals, and was named the 2012-13 WCHA's Preseason Player of the Year.
This season, the Dousman, Wis., native leads the Badgers with 27 goals (eighth in the nation), and 23 assists. With a three-point game against Lindenwood on Oct. 6, Decker became the fifth Badger, and 17th player in NCAA history, to record 200 career points. She reached the 200-point mark in just 112 games, becoming the fastest Badger to reach the milestone.
With two goals over the Feb. 22-23 weekend, Decker surpassed Meghan Duggan for second-most career points at Wisconsin. In the NCAA Division I women's hockey record book, Decker currently ranks eighth for career points (239), seventh in career goals (109) and 16th in assists (124).
This marks the third-consecutive year in which a Badger has been named a top-10 finalist – Brianna Decker and Hilary Knight in 2012 and Meghan Duggan and Hilary Knight in 2011.
Wisconsin's all-time top-10 finalists include Sara Bauer (2006, 2007), Decker (2012, 2013), Duggan (2011), Molly Engstrom (2005), Meghan Hunter (2001), Knight (2009, 2011, 2012), Erika Lawler (2009), Carla MacLeod (2005), Meaghan Mikkelson (2007), Bobbi-Jo Slusar (2006), and Jessie Vetter (2009).
This is the 16th annual presentation of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, given annually to the top player in NCAA Division I women's ice hockey. Selection criteria includes: outstanding individual and team skills, sportsmanship performance in the clutch, personal character, competitiveness and a love of hockey. Consideration is also given to academic achievement and civic involvement.
A 13-member selection committee will choose the three finalists, which will be announced March 7. The committee will also select this year's recipient with the announcement taking place live at a brunch ceremony in Minneapolis on March 23.


Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WQOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's pubic inspection file should contact News Director Dan Schillinger at 715-852-5920. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at