FAA to close 149 regional airport control towers - WQOW TV: Eau Claire, WI NEWS18 News, Weather, and Sports

FAA to close 149 regional airport control towers; including 8 in WI


MADISON (WKOW) -- Eight Wisconsin air traffic control towers will be closed because of forced spending cuts.

The FAA announced on Friday in will close 149 regional airport control towers, but is sparing 40 others that the FAA had been expected to close. Here in Wisconsin, the eight airports affected are in Janesville, Milwaukee, Oshkosh, La Crosse, Eau Claire, Kenosha, Waukesha and Mosinee.

The FAA says a four-week, phased closure of the 149 control towers will begin on April 7. The closures are part of $85 billion in federal spending cuts across the government. Because of those spending cuts, the FAA must cut $627 million by September 30.

The announcement affects towers operated under contracts with FAA which have fewer than 10,000 commercial arrivals or departures and 150,000 general-aviation operations per year.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WQOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's pubic inspection file should contact News Director Dan Schillinger at 715-852-5920. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.