USDA approves Natural Disaster Designation for 24 WI counties - WQOW TV: Eau Claire, WI NEWS18 News, Weather, and Sports

USDA approves Natural Disaster Designation for 24 WI counties


MADISON (WKOW) -- The United States Department of Agriculture has approved designating 24 Wisconsin counties as natural disaster areas.

Governor Scott Walker sent a letter to the USDA on June 25, requesting the designation because of the crop loss resulting from excessive rain and snow.

"We appreciate the quick response to the conditions affecting Wisconsin farmers," Governor Walker said. "A freezing, thawing, and refreezing cycle, coupled with excessive rain and snow, resulted in crop losses ranging from 30 to 70 percent in some areas. We appreciate the continued attention and assistance to help our farmers deal with the crop losses."

The following counties now declared as disaster areas: Brown, Buffalo, Calumet, Chippewa, Clark, Dodge, Eau Claire, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Kewaunee, Langlade, Lincoln, Manitowoc, Marathon, Marinette, Oconto, Outagamie, Ozaukee, Pierce, Shawano, Sheboygan, Trempealeau, Waupaca, and Washington.
Farmers in need of feed for their livestock or with feed to sell to farmers in need are encouraged to use the Farmer to Farmer program provided by UW Extension here.
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WQOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's pubic inspection file should contact News Director Dan Schillinger at 715-852-5920. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at