Wisconsin counties declared natural disaster areas for farmers - WQOW TV: Eau Claire, WI NEWS18 News, Weather, and Sports

Wisconsin counties declared natural disaster areas for farmers


WAUSAU (WKOW) -- Farmers in two dozen Wisconsin counties are facing a disastrous year because of all the rain, but the federal government is offering help.

The U.S. Agriculture Department declared the counties natural disaster areas this week.

It'll give farmers access to low interest loans to make it through the season.

"These loans come with low interest rates and usually short term up to seven years. These loans can be used to cover expenses on the farms for crop replacement, farm expenses, stuff like that," said Matthew Peplinski of the USDA Farm Service Agency.

Many farmers are a month or more behind in corn planting and hay cutting.

Most of the counties in the disaster declaration are in the northern and eastern part of the state.

Dodge is the only county in our area that's on the list, which also includes: Brown, Buffalo, Calumet, Chippewa, Clark, Eau Claire, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Kewaunee, Langlade, Lincoln, Manitowoc, Marathon, Marinette, Oconto, Outagamie, Ozaukee, Pierce, Shawano, Sheboygan, Trempealeau, Waupaca, and Washington counties.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WQOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's pubic inspection file should contact News Director Dan Schillinger at 715-852-5920. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.