Elderly Thorp woman dies from injuries sustained in crash - WQOW TV: Eau Claire, WI NEWS18 News, Weather, and Sports

Elderly Thorp woman dies from injuries sustained in crash


Clark County (Press Release) - The Clark County Sheriff's Department responded to a two-vehicle crash on Saturday, August 31, 2013. 

The crash occurred at about 11:30 a.m. at the intersection of Broek Road and Tieman Avenue in the Town of Worden, southwest of Thorp.

Investigation shows that an eastbound vehicle, driven by Waylon J. Copenhaver, 19, of Stanley was eastbound on Broek Road.  A vehicle driven by Alvin J. Benzschawel, 83, of Thorp, was southbound on Tieman Avenue at Broek Road.  Benzschawel pulled into the path of the Copenhaver vehicle. 

A passenger in the Benzschawel vehicle, Betty M. Benzschawel, 80, of Thorp, was injured and airlifted from the scene at the time of the crash.  Alvin was transported by Thorp Ambulance for his injuries and Copenhaver received minor injuries but was not transported from the scene.

Both Benzschawel's were not wearing their seatbelts at the time of the crash. Copenhaver was the lone occupant of his vehicle and was wearing his seatbelt.

Betty passed away during the late evening hours of Thursday, September 5, 2013, from injuries sustained in this crash. 

This is the 5th traffic fatality in Clark County for 2013.  The Thorp Fire and Ambulance and Ministry St Joseph's Hospital air medical transport assisted at the scene.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WQOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's pubic inspection file should contact News Director Dan Schillinger at 715-852-5920. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.