UW swimmers named to team USA - WQOW TV: Eau Claire, WI NEWS18 News, Weather, and Sports

UW swimmers named to team USA

Courtesy: University of Wisconsin-Madison Courtesy: University of Wisconsin-Madison

MADISON (WKOW) -- If you ask any athlete, competing for team USA is a huge honor, and it's one a number of University of Wisconsin-Madison swimmers achieved last week.

There are now four Badgers on the national team, tying UW for the second most of any combined-program in the country.  On Tuesday, USA Swimming announced Ivy Martin, Nick Caldwell, Drew teDuits and Michael Weiss as members of the 2013-14 National Swimming Team. roster

"To have one athlete named to the U.S. National Team is a great achievement, but to have four Badgers have the opportunity to represent their country is an honor," UW head coach Whitney Hite said. "I believe each of the four are more than deserving of spots on Team USA and will be great additions to what looks to be a loaded group of highly competitive swimmers."
The swimmers say they're excited to represent their country, ready to work hard and hope to continue the success they've had.
Of the four, Weiss and Martin earned top honors at the 2013 World University Games and 2013 U.S. Open, respectively. Weiss, a recent grad, also competed with Team USA at the FINA World Championships earlier this year in Kazan, Russia, earning gold in the 400-meter individual medley at the World University Games.
Martin took home gold this summer in the 50-meter freestyle at the 2013 U.S. Open in Irvine, California.  The junior earned a Big Ten title in 2013 and was also named an NCAA All-American.
Coaching staff expect teDuits and Caldwell, both juniors, to be headliners for the Badgers' men's team in 2013.  teDuits is the 2013 NCAA champion in the 200-year backstroke while Caldwell was a member of the USA Junior National Team and 2010 Junior Pan-Pacific Team, capturing gold in the 400 free at the 2010 Pan-Pacific Junior Championship in Maui, Hawaii.
"Being named to the national team means you are the elite of the elite," Hite added. "I couldn't be more proud of Ivy, Michael, Drew and Nick.  They embody what our program represents and I am thrilled for them and this program."

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WQOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's pubic inspection file should contact News Director Dan Schillinger at 715-852-5920. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.