Big Ten/Hockey East Challenge announced - WQOW TV: Eau Claire, WI NEWS18 News, Weather, and Sports

Big Ten/Hockey East Challenge announced


MADISON (UW Athletics) -- Eleven of the country's most storied college hockey programs will compete this fall in the inaugural Big Ten/Hockey East Challenge, it was announced today by the Big Ten Conference and the Hockey East Association. Eleven different institutions will participate in 13 designated games to be played between October 18-27, with six games in Hockey East arenas on the first weekend, followed by six games in Big Ten arenas and a single game on neutral ice on the second weekend.

"The Big Ten/Hockey East Challenge will offer a tremendous opportunity to build a relationship between our two conferences and to promote the strong traditions of college hockey on a national level," said Big Ten Associate Commissioner Jennifer Heppel. "The student-athletes will also benefit from the chance to take part in meaningful non-conference competition against other top programs."

"The college hockey landscape is going through a major change this season and each conference needs to look beyond its familiar boundaries," said Hockey East Commissioner Joe Bertagna. "We have great respect for the hockey-playing institutions in the Big Ten and we hope to develop this concept to allow all of our programs to participate in this competition in future years."
A Big Ten/Hockey East Challenge Cup will be presented to the conference that records the most points from the 13 games. Points will be awarded as follows: two points for a win, one point for a tie and a bonus point for a road win. Should a Big Ten school utilize a shootout in any of its home games, it will not factor into the result. Should each conference record the same number of points, the results of the Penn State - Vermont game, played on neutral ice, will serve as the tie-breaker.
The seventeen schools that play in these two conferences have compiled an unparalleled record of success in the history of college hockey, combining to claim 33 national championships during the 66 seasons that the NCAA has sponsored the sport. Of the 11 schools participating in the inaugural Big Ten/Hockey East Challenge, five took part in last season's NCAA Championship.
Third-ranked Wisconsin opens the season on Friday, Oct. 11 against Northern Michigan at the Kohl Center at 7 p.m. The Badgers first official practice takes place on Saturday, Oct. 5 with their Red-White Scrimmage in Eau Claire, Wis.
Big Ten/Hockey East Challenge
(All times 6 p.m. CT unless noted)
Friday, Oct. 18
Wisconsin at Boston College
Michigan State at Massachusetts
Michigan at New Hampshire (6:30 p.m.)
Saturday, Oct. 19
Wisconsin at Boston University
Michigan State at Massachusetts
Michigan at New Hampshire
Friday, Oct. 25
Boston Collage at Minnesota (7 p.m.)
Boston University at Michigan
UMass Lowell at Michigan State
Saturday, Oct. 26
Boston University at Michigan State
UMass Lowell at Michigan
Penn State at Vermont
Sunday, Oct. 27
Boston College at Minnesota
Powered by Frankly