UW's Alvarez selected for College Football Playoff selection com - WQOW TV: Eau Claire, WI NEWS18 News, Weather, and Sports

UW's Alvarez selected for College Football Playoff selection committee


MADISON, WI (WKOW) -- Wisconsin Athletic Director and Hall of Fame coach Barry Alvarez has officially been selected as a member of the first ever College Football Playoff selection committee.

Alvarez is one of 13 members on the committee that will pick the four teams that will compete in the playoffs following the 2014 regular season.

Arkansas athletic director Jeff Long has been chosen the first chairman of the committee.

Alvarez and Long are two of five current athletic directors on the committee, along with West Virginia's Oliver Luck, Clemson's Dan Radakovich and Southern California's Pat Haden.

Also on the committee are former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, retired Lt. Gen Michael Gould, former Big East Commissioner Mike Tranghese, former Nebraska coach Tom Osborne, former Notre Dame coach Tyrone Willingham, former NFL and Mississippi quarterback Archie Manning, and former NCAA vice president Tom Jernstedt.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WQOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's pubic inspection file should contact News Director Dan Schillinger at 715-852-5920. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.