Borland, Gordon named award semifinalists - WQOW TV: Eau Claire, WI NEWS18 News, Weather, and Sports

Chris Borland, Melvin Gordon named award semifinalists


MADISON (WKOW) -- The UW Badgers football team has two players being considered for national recognition. 

Senior linebacker Chris Borland is one of 16 semifinalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the outstanding defensive player of the year. He's also one of 12 semifinalists for the Butkus Award, given to the top linebacker in the country each year. 

Borland leads the team in tackles and is tied for seventh in the Big Ten with 57 tackles. Including a 16-tackle game against Ohio State. The Badgers defense as a whole ranks sixth in nation for both points and total yards allowed. 

Sophomore running back Melvin Gordon is one of 16 semifinalists for the Maxwell Award for the collegiate player of the year. Gordon currently leads the Big Ten and ranks fourth in the county in rushing yards per game, averaging 144.6 so far this year. He also leads the nation in yards per carry (9.5) and is tied for the Big Ten lead with 11 touchdowns. 

It's the third consecutive year the Badgers have a Maxwell Award semifinalist after Montee Ball (2012) and Russell Wilson (2011) were named the last two seasons. Only two other schools can claim a Maxwell Award semifinalist in each of the last two years: Alabama and Oregon. 

UW is one of just five schools in the country with a player on both the Maxwell and Bednarik Award semifinalist lists. The Badgers join Alabama, Clemson, Florida State and Oregon. 

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WQOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's pubic inspection file should contact News Director Dan Schillinger at 715-852-5920. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at