Badgers' Borland named Lott IMPACT Trophy semifinalist - WQOW TV: Eau Claire, WI NEWS18 News, Weather, and Sports

Badgers' Borland named Lott IMPACT Trophy semifinalist

MADISON, Wis. -- The Lott IMPACT Trophy has been dubbed "the only college football award where character counts." Named for famed defender Ronnie Lott, IMPACT is an acronym for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. Those sound like words that could make up Chris Borland's biography.
The Badgers' senior linebacker was named one of nine semifinalists for the Lott IMPACT Trophy, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation announced on Wednesday. Borland joins former UW greats Jim Leonhard, a finalist in 2004, and J.J. Watt, the winner in 2010, as the only semifinalists for the award in school history.
Borland leads the Badgers with 70 tackles, 5.5 tackles for loss and 4.0 sacks. His 16-tackle effort at No. 4 Ohio State was the best showing by a Big Ten player this season and he ranks second among active players in career tackles (379) and fifth in career TFLs (46.5).
Off the field, Borland has volunteered more than 100 hours since May, more than double any other student-athlete at Wisconsin. He has made numerous visits to the American Family Children's Hospital, mentors grade-schoolers at a local elementary school through regular weekly visits and helped found a chapter of Uplifting Athletes on campus.
A national voter panel will determine the winner and finalists, all of whom will be invited to attend the 10th annual Lott IMPACT Trophy banquet on Dec. 8 in Newport Beach. The panel is made up of former college coaches, players, members of the media and past winners and finalists of the Lott Trophy. The five finalists will be announced on Nov. 27.
The other semifinalists are: Anthony Barr (LB, UCLA), Aaron Donald (DT, Pitt), Devon Kennard (DE, USC), James Morris (LB, Iowa), C.J. Mosley (LB, Alabama), Ed Reynolds (S, Stanford), Ryan Shazier (LB, Ohio State) and Kyle Van Noy (LB, BYU).
Powered by Frankly