UWEC's Dennis Named DIII Indoor National Athlete of the Year - WQOW TV: Eau Claire, WI NEWS18 News, Weather, and Sports

UWEC's Dennis Named DIII Indoor National Athlete of the Year


NEW ORLEANS, LA (Blugolds.com) - UW-Eau Claire men's indoor track member Thurgood Dennis (Jr.-Allouez, Wis./Green Bay Notre Dame) has been named the Division III Indoor Track National Athlete of the Year by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

Dennis, a junior from Allouez, Wis., was a double national champion at 60 and 200 meters at the NCAA Division III Indoor Championships in Lincoln, Neb., in leading the Blugolds to a runner-up team finish. His winning 6.68 at 60 meters set a new Division III record by .01 over Chaz Clemons and Dayne Ross of Lincoln in 2003 and 1999, respectively.

He also set a new Division III record for 200 meters with a 21.27 win, again by just .01 over the old mark of 21.28 by Bret Blake of Nebraska Wesleyan in 2004. He also ran a leg of the fifth-place 4×400 relay team.

Earlier in the season he won WIAC titles both at 60 and 200 meters and as a member of the 4×200 and 4×400 relays.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WQOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's pubic inspection file should contact News Director Dan Schillinger at 715-852-5920. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.