3 Badgers On All-B1G Preseason Men's Basketball Team - WQOW TV: Eau Claire, WI NEWS18 News, Weather, and Sports

3 Badgers On All-B1G Preseason Men's Basketball Team


University of Wisconsin Athletics news release (Tuesday, October 11, 2016) -- Wisconsin senior Nigel Hayes was named Big Ten Preseason Player of the Year by a vote of the league’s media, the conference office announced Tuesday. The Big Ten also released its preseason All-Conference team which in addition to Hayes, included UW senior Bronson Koenig and sophomore Ethan Happ.

Hayes is the fourth Badger in the last 14 seasons to be named conference preseason player of the year. The 6-foot-8 forward from Toledo, Ohio, joins Frank Kaminsky (recognized prior to the 2014-15 season), Alando Tucker (tabbed prior to the 2006-07 season) and Devin Harris (honored prior to the 2003-04 season) as the only Badgers to earn the distinction.

Harris, Tucker and Kaminsky all went on to turn their preseason nominations into postseason Big Ten Player of the Year awards that season.

“While I appreciate the sign of respect this shows, preseason honors don’t really mean much,” Hayes said. “I’m much more concerned with postseason player of the year awards, because that would likely mean our team did something special this season. Seven of the last 12 postseason Big Ten Players of the Year have come from the conference champion and that’s one of our goals.

“If we win championships, everything individually will fall into place. Really, I just want to be Frank Kaminsky.”

Hayes was the only player to earn unanimous preseason all-conference team honors.

Hayes was a 2016 first-team All-Big Ten selection last season after leading the Badgers with 15.7 points per game and is one of just five players in Wisconsin history to record 1,000 points, 500 rebounds and 200 assists in his career. Koenig averaged 13.1 points per game last season earning 2016 second-team All-Big Ten honors. He enters his senior season needing just 71 points to reach the 1,000-point plateau. A third-team All-Big Ten honoree and the 2016 Big Ten Freshman of the Year, Happ became just the second Big Ten freshman in the last 20 years to average at least 11.0 points, 7.0 rebounds, 1.0 assist, 1.0 steal and 0.5 blocks per game.


Nigel Hayes, Wisconsin


Malcolm Hill, Illinois

James Blackmon Jr., Indiana

Thomas Bryant, Indiana

Peter Jok, Iowa

Melo Trimble, Maryland

Derrick Walton Jr., Michigan

Caleb Swanigan, Purdue

Ethan Happ, Wisconsin

NIGEL HAYES, Wisconsin

Bronson Koenig, Wisconsin

Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS

Powered by Frankly