Walker recommends new 'opportunity zones' in 40 counties - WQOW TV: Eau Claire, WI NEWS18 News, Weather, and Sports

Walker recommends new 'opportunity zones' in 40 counties

Posted: Updated:
Madison, WI (WXOW) - -

Gov. Scott Walker wants to create 120 "Economic Opportunity Zones" in Wisconsin, a designation allowed under the new federal tax law designed to spur development.

Walker on Tuesday released the recommended list he is sending to the U.S. Department of Treasury which will make the final designation. The zones are in 44 counties across the state, including urban, rural and tribal areas.

There are several in the area, including Eau Claire and Chippewa Falls.

The city of Milwaukee has the most at 34, with Madison second at nine.

The program creates a tax incentive for businesses and individuals to invest in the zones.

Copyright 2018 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly